FFL Checklist and Transfer Information

Below, you'll find some helpful tips for using Protect & Defend (A Rogers LLC) to transfer a firearm purchased online. Please read carefully. All information below is here because it's come up or been an issue in the past.  

I am a home-based FFL.  This means that I don't keep normal shop hours and work a regular full time job. My transfer rates are less than brick-and-mortar retail shops because I understand this is an inconvenience for some people. I do my very best to accommodate people, but I can't take time off work to get you your gun!  

If you purchased a gun online and I sent my FFL to facilitate the transfer please provide me shipping information as soon as you get it so that I can coordinate with UPS/USPS/FEDEX to make sure I can get my hands on the gun. I will probably miss home delivery - DON'T PANIC.  I will get your gun after hours at the customer service centers. The sooner you send me tracking info the better as I can make arrangements ahead of time.

To purchase a pistol in VA:

  • You must be a VA resident with established residency for 30 days. This means that you must have a valid, state-issued photo identification card (driver's license or Walker's ID) with your current address and an issue date of at least 30 days prior to the day of the transfer.  Or,
  • Active duty military with a valid, non-expired CAC card and orders posting you to Virginia. The address on your orders must say Virginia, Military District-Washington will not satisfy the VA residency requirements
  • As of July 1, 2020, you may only purchase one handgun a month unless you meet one of several exceptions, such as being a current VA CHP holder, being law enforcement, or being a trade-in.

To purchase a rifle or shotgun in VA:

  • You must be a VA resident with established residency for 30 days. This means that you must have a valid, state-issued photo identification card (driver's license or Walker's ID) with your current address and an issue date of at least 30 days prior to the day of the transfer.  Or,
  • An out-of-state resident with
    • a valid state-issued identification card (driver's license or Walker's ID) with a current address
    • a second form of identification with the name and address on the photo ID (power bill, lease, mortgage statement, vehicle registration, etc.)Active duty military with a valid, non-expired CAC card and orders posting you to Virginia. The address on your orders must say Virginia, Military District-Washington will not satisfy the VA residency requirements

I'm unable to make exceptions to the requirements above.

Transfer fees are $25 for the first gun and $5 each additional gun in the same transaction. Even if are disqualified by your background check, I will still collect the $25 fee. The State Police charge me whether you're approved or not and I've made time to meet with you and run your background check. 

State Police decisions are final! If you are disqualified for any reason, I will provide you a phone number for the Firearm Transaction Center. They will provide the reason you were disqualified. I don't know - they don't tell me why.

I accept Cash, credit, Venmo, and Zelle. Please let me know before hand if you'll need to make change.

The transfer will happen at my home. Please do not show up without an appointment.  Park in marked guest spots. Please be considerate of my neighbors, do not park in their driveways, do not block their driveways, etc. If it doesn't look like a parking spot, you cannot park there. If it looks like a driveway, you cannot park there.  If it looks like the mouth of a drive way (including my driveway), you cannot park across it.


x